Brussels Sprouts, Broad Bean and Leek Risotto

This wasn’t exactly the admission I’d intended to go with for the start of the new year. But this is exactly what I’ve been gorging on several times a week recently, and can’t quite get over just how simple and good the combination of pan-fried leeks and Brussels sprouts actually are. Which surprises me. I’d intended to go with the notion that I was going to make a concerted effort to be nicer this year. And that it would help if you gave me your exhausted list of self-help books. To save me looking. But then, none of you would think, not for a minute, that there was any chance of them helping – as they seem to have failed already. Anyway, enough of the niceties. This couldn’t be much simpler. Apart from the veg and stock there’s only a single bay leaf and a large pinch of red pepper flakes used – not even herbs. Nor garlic. This is easy. And quick. And I guess this is relatively healthy with three veg on the one plate. Of course, garden peas or broccoli would be great with this. So was the inclusion of several Little Gem lettuce leaves shredded and chucked in for my lunch – nice crunch. As I wasn’t in the mood to prep a salad proper. Far too busy editing photos to care. There is one thing on my mind, though: why was I thinking last night of roasting an entire ostrich next Christmas? There was even an oven built large enough to do so. Anything to get attention, I suppose. Let’s face it, if you’re not a minor celebratory these days who’s going to notice. No kidding, it’s been like purgatory around here – the boredom only interrupted by tumbleweed rolling by. Oh, and torn pages from those self-help books – litter louts!

Brussels Sprouts, Broad Bean and Leek Risotto

INGREDIENTS:

PREP: about 30 mins ~ COOK: 20 – 30  mins ~ READY IN: less than 45 mins

ADDITIONAL EQUIPMENT NEEDED: measuring jug, fine grater (microplane) for the Parmesan. If cooking risotto for more than 2 portions then a wide sauté pan is advisable, as it will allow the rice to cook more evenly

  • oil, I prefer using extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 x medium sized leeks (white, light green and some of the more tender dark green used), trimmed, sliced crossways into discs and thoroughly rinsed
  • 1 x dried bay leaf
  • 1 x organic vegetable stock cube
  • 400ml (13.53 fl oz) x cold water (not all of the stock will be used)
  • 100g (3.527 oz) x arborio rice, well rinsed
  • 200g (7.055 oz) + extra if needed x Brussels sprouts, trimmed and sliced crossways into 2 or 3 discs (according to how large they are)
  • 1 x 300g or 195g drained weight (10.58 or 6.878 oz drained) can broad beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 x teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • single/light cream, about 50ml (1.691 fl oz) used, more or less to personal taste
  • Parmesan or Grana Padano, freshly grated
  • seasoning, freshly ground sea salt and black pepper
  • salted pistachios, shelled and chopped (or try dry roasting pumpkin seeds) – optional
  • shredded Little Gem lettuce – optional

Measurements within brackets above are approximate only.

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Put a heavy-based saucepan on electric heat No 3 out of 6. When hot add a glug of oil and add the leeks and the bay leaf, stirring through to coat them in oil before clamping on a lid. I tend to leave mine for at least 15 minutes before removing the lid and stirring through. Do check on them and stir through more often if necessary.
  2. Prep the stock. I use the same saucepan for the actual risotto. Simply pour in the water with the stock cube, put on heat No 3 and allow to dissolve before transferring to a suitable measuring jug, and set aside.
  3. Add a glug of oil to the same pan and add the rice, stirring through often to coat. Take off heat if there’s any sign of the grains sticking to base of pan.
  4. When the leeks are nicely soft push them to the sides of pan and add the sprouts. Add the lid back on and allow up to 10 minutes for them to cook before removing the lid again and stirring through. Do look for any signs of scorching. And take off heat if necessary.
  5. Just before pouring in some of the stock to the rice sprinkle over the red pepper flakes. Add a good glug of the stock and up the heat to No 4. Stir often, and stay with the pan. I’m so used to making this that I set the timer for 10 and leave it, keeping an ear open for any sizzling – which would suggest the stock has been absorbed. However, I tend to keep the heat at No 3 to prevent the stock from being absorbed too quickly. If new to making risotto stay with the pan as the stock can be absorbed far quicker than imagined. When the stock has been absorbed add a good glug of single/light cream and a little more stock. When that’s nearly absorbed is when I start testing the rice to check if it’s nearly or almost cooked. Sometimes the risotto will need further cream and a drizzle of stock before the rice is fully cooked.
  6. In the meantime prep the broad beans and add those to the risotto to heat those through until piping hot. Check to make sure the Brussels sprouts are cooked through and add those and the leeks to the risotto and stir through to combine.
  7. Serve piping hot (on warmed plates/bowls) with lots of freshly grated Parmesan or Grana Padano. A knob of butter is great with this. Scatter over seeds or nuts, which will add some protein and much needed crunch.

All photographs within (Todas las fotografías dentro de) Kitschnflavours:
All rights reserved (© Todos los derechos reservados) – Copyright © Johnny Hepburn


144 comments

  1. Oh I love risottos and all their lovely creative combinations possible. I lived with an Italian friend in the UK. Once she made us red wine risotto. Another tine she made red cabbage (or whatever its called) risotto. I shall be posting the classical mushroom one soon. Leeks are great, your risotto looks great!

    • This winter I’m really into risottos. I guess when you know how easy they are to make, and that it’s possible to include quite a few combinations, it’s great firing things into saucepans. Or at least, that’s how I tend to make mine! Sort of. Yes, mushroom risotto is one of my favourites. As I’ve just ran out of aborio rice I think I’ll make an orzotto again with mushrooms and pearl barley – just for a change :)

  2. I like the sound of broad beans, leek and brussel sprouts. I found a mini savoy cabbage yesterday, and have been thinking cabbage-y thoughts. And the food blog Three Little Halves did a post recently to measure whether brussel sprouts have become the new kale, quite entertaining.
    And…ostrich??? How about an emu?

    • Found the post you mentioned. Thanks for that as it’s a fabulous blog! Following on Bloglovin’. And I have to admit that Brussels sprouts have made a big impression this year. Including on the stalk, something I’ve rarely seen. So pleased about that as they keep so much better for one person. Unfortunately, both times I’ve taken photos of the stalk itself I’ve ended up cropping most of it out of the frame. Anyway, I was having one of those sleepless nights where I was certain I was awake and roasting an entire ostrich. The oven, especially built, was huge! Have no idea what the dream is symbolising. Is it a case of having to do something drastically different to grab attention?! Oh, and how about you go with the emu? Barbecued??

      • I love Three Little Halves too, such beautifully photographed food, teacups, etc.
        Trying to imagine the size of an ostrich-roasting oven, or an emu-barbecue for that matter… I dare you? :-P

        • Those teacups! Too beautiful. And why aren’t they all mine?!
          Hahaha! Let’s wait and see what the next couple of months have in store (have just been Freshly Pressed!). Before I take up your challenge! Thankfully, according to mariadernikos.com ostrich doesn’t taste like chicken. More gamey in flavour. Even better for me. Now, what about that emu…

  3. This looks delicious. I really like risotto and the combinations are endless. I’ve been on a roasted brussels sprouts kick lately so this would be ideal. I’ve been feeling like you lately too. I’ve also indulged too many times in my go-to meal, but never posted it, but I think you’ve inspired me. Thanks, Johnny. As always, your photos are gorgeous.

    • Isn’t it odd about our go-to sups? I’ve been making veggie versions of risotto so much more often this season that it hadn’t even occurred to me to post it. And, have to admit, I’ve been cooking a lot of the more recent recipes I’ve done. Like the artichokes and pasta. So good every time.
      Thanks, re photo. Wasn’t particularly pleased with this as even with newer editing techniques it’s turned out very cold. And the greens of the risotto are bland. But, that’s how this risotto is. Refuse to cheat for photos as what you see I happily eat. And I didn’t have enough props! Ouch.

  4. Now that I’ve read and re-read your lead-in paragraph, I must say that I have an ever-growing number of questions for you Johnny – not all relating to risotto or food… I do love the fact that, within your writing, there’s always the chance of some unexpected little gems to perplex, enlighten and raise eyebrows. ;)
    It’s heading towards dinner time here and I wasn’t feeling much like cooking until coming across your risotto – despite not having brussel sprouts, broad beans or leeks in the fridge right now, I think a simple risotto might be on the cards – perhaps with a little saffron and parmesan. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Saffron I’ve yet to try in a risotto. Can imagine it would go well with white wine. Why I say that I don’t quite know as I don’t drink. Used to like differing wines, though.
      The fact I deliberated about posting this says a lot. It’s a very plain little recipe. The photo is cold and harsh, even with newer editing techniques. And as for the text! Well, how many people bother to read it? Most of my traffic comes from search engine queries and Pinterest. Only a small percentage from WP. It’s got to the stage where I would prefer to omit the summary completely so people can view the ingredients list almost straight away. Hence all of the recent tweaks. And I seem to have come to the conclusion that the very popular blogs are all about lifestyle – something I no longer have!
      Oh, and I like the idea of this type of risotto served at room temperature. With a crunchy salad. Roll on summer!

  5. What a lovely combination Johnny! Such simple, tender flavors using the seasonal produce! I am loving roasted Brussels sprouts nowadays but haven’t gotten around posting any of the recipes thinking they are too easy-peesy to be mentioned on the blog. Would definitely try the risotto! Thank you for the inspiration!

    Hope you had a lovely new year eve & wish you the most delicious 2014! :)

    • Never think they’re too easy-peasy. I’d love to read your versions using Brussels sprouts! Especially as they won’t be in the shops here for much longer. Really want to make the most of them whilst I still can.
      Thank you. And a wonderful ’14 for you as well!

  6. Happy New Year, Johnny! This risotto sounds delicious, and reminds me I haven’t made risotto in too long. I love it, but the boyfriend prefers pasta. I have never tried such a combination of veggies, but it must be really good! I have been eating alot of brussels sprouts since the beginning of autumn, and this is a very nice way of using them. Thanks for the inspiration, and really, if one can eat ostrich steaks, why not a whole ostrich? :)

    • Likewise, HNY! Must say, loving your baking posts right now. Mine are few and far between as I’m running into problems as my kitchen seems to be especially cold. Anyway, isn’t it odd that certain combinations of ingredients will work well for risottos but not for pastas. This would be horrid with the latter. Yet, regardless of how tender the veg turn out they’re just so good with rice.
      Funny thing is there’s an ostrich farm near where I grew up. Yet, I’ve never tried it. Seriously, in my dream the oven was massive. And why a whole ostrich?! I’m not even eating meat at the moment! With no cravings. Particularly with fish, as that’s what I would normally eat several times a week. Although, if I start grilling whale steaks…

    • Must check what an ostrich would mean in a dream dictionary. Just can’t imagine there’ll be an explanation for roasting one! Yes, for something this plain – as in no herbs, garlic – it’s really tasty. Although, it’s partly to do with it being so easy to prep and cook :)

  7. Hehe, I see we’re starting off the new blogging year on the same page :-) I bought about two handfuls of baby Brussels sprouts last week, just because I liked their size and they looked cute. Still weighing all options of how to cook them.

    • Yes, unforgivable. I know. Change the record and all that. Although, all of the minor tweaks to my posts I’m pleased with. Just not the natural light for photos. It’ll be another 4 weeks before we start heading out of this wintry light. And can’t believe it’s been so deathly dull here. And so much rain! Seriously, I should be building an ark rather than blogging.
      A recent stalk of Brussels sprouts bought recently was covered in tiny sprouts. Pan-fried is the only way I really like them. Or roasted. But they were so tiny I think they would’ve scorched in the oven. Not sure why I photographed this dish overhead as it’s not really possible to see them. Hmm…

      • Oh thanks for mentioning the little sprouts might get scorched in the oven, that’s something I hadn’t even considered… And I like the overhead shot! Still, I, too, can’t wait for better light.

    • You’re right. It’s so easy to cook I just set timers and get on with other stuff, keeping my ears open for sizzling when there shouldn’t be any! Although, I shouldn’t really admit to that when cooking risotto. Doesn’t everyone stay with the pan? I know that’s what I advise…

  8. I absolutely love this combination and will give it a go. I used to think broad beans were poisonous – as least – my mother’s were. But then I look at your risotto and know that I’d love them. Such a beautiful photograph. The white cut-work placemat is gorgeous. Perfect backdrop.

    • Seriously? Innocent littl’ broad beans? But then, there are foods that are lethal. Red kidney beans if not cooked properly. Which is why I don’t bother! I buy them in cans. Thanks re photo. I very nearly didn’t bother to go with this post, partly as I thought – even for my standards (what standards?!) – the text might be too brusque. And I wasn’t overly impressed with the photo!

  9. Love the veggies and flavors here – lovely combinations. Great photo and props, as always! :-) I tend to tear up self-help books. I think I am beyond help by this point in my old age. Enjoy this delicious dish, Johnny.

    • It’s such a simple combination for this time of year. Do like the idea of this in summer with freshly shelled peas and fresh herbs. And maybe served at room temperature as a sort of dip. Hmm, already looking forward to long summer months.
      As for self-help books I’ve never bothered with them. Not that I don’t need them!

          • Who wants to be perfect? I’d rather be nice. kind. caring… but otherwise beautifully flawed. Speaking of beautiful (dishes), I picked up some Brussels sprouts and beans today… Though I couldn’t find fava beans! They are not always available here, except in Middle Eastern stores or specialty stores like Whole Foods.

            • To be honest, I’m a little confused with broad and fava beans. Are they exactly the same? I do remember researching that online only to realise there are differences. Having said that, I suddenly realised last night that I could’ve skinned the broad beans as they’re such a beautiful vibrant colour underneath. With canned I never bother but with fresh over here they do need to be skinned as they can be tough. Shame.

  10. I read your recipe for risotto and compared it to my version (totally different) but I knew I would learn something and I have with yours, I like the idea of the pistachios. You always put so much detail into your recipes which make them a joy to read. As for the text, I like to read it, sometimes several times just to make sure I haven’t missed anything. I know what you mean about is the lead story worth the effort, you are not alone with that thought. Roasting an ostrich maybe not in an oven but on a spit. http://thegirlwhowenttoparis.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/weekend-away-down-in-old-orleans.html scoll down and you will see a leg being roasted. Ostrich meat claims to be very healthy and lean. I wonder what sort of sandwiches it makes and what sauce you would serve with it??

    • Thank you for that link, which I’ll look at a bit later. The ostrich scenario was actually a dream. What was even more odd was that I thought I was awake at the time. Sometimes there’s a fine line between sleep and consciousness. As for ostrich meat I’ve never tried it. Would be curious. Although, I’m hoping it doesn’t taste like chicken!
      Risottos are numerous. Mine is probably an easy version. Well, is there that much of a variation? Wouldn’t really know as I’ve neither had a risotto in Italy nor one cooked by an Italian. As for the pistachios, that’s what I would’ve liked. I never seem to have enough of a supply of certain nuts as I tend to gorge on them! Must buy those in.

      • Well the dream turned in reality! We used to eat a lot of ostrich because it was deemed very low fat and we liked the rich flavour. It doesn’t taste anything like chicken I would say it leans more towards vension. There used to be a breeder from Nottinghamshire who sold ostrich in Borough market. Rarely go to Borough market these days as its more about street food than ingredients. If you get a chance do try it. It didn’t used to be that expensive and there was no waste. Saying all that I haven’t had it in years but you have wakened a slight yearning!

        • Thank you so much for the info. Really pleased that ostrich doesn’t taste like chicken. I would’ve been horribly disappointed if it did. As I love pheasant I’m even more curious about ostrich now. Hold on, I haven’t eaten meat/fish/seafood since my trilogy of colds last month. And not craving them either. Although, I was sorely tempted to buy frozen venison meat for NYDay…but forgot the shops close early NYEve! Ouch.
          So disappointed to hear about Borough Market. Seriously. I knew that the street food/feast malarkey was popular – but that popular?! Admittedly I never went very often (only when popping into the BSO) as Spitafields was so much closer (I used to work there). And Broadway Market was at the end of my, then, street. Do miss them!

          • I know that Borough Market has become the place to go at the moment for food so it might just be my opinion but I feel it has lost something. Same as Berwick Street market and Leather Lane – now it is full of street food. Hardly worth the trek over for the odd actual food ingredients stall. Yes there are stalls selling oils, cheeses etc. but these are really expensive and sometimes I can’t quite see how they justify their costs. Buying good old fashioned vegetables in central London is becoming impossible. Spitafields has also changed over the years but at least Tubby Issacs is still there!!!
            Hope your colds have disappeared and maybe the thought of trying ostrich is tempting you back!

  11. An ostrich, now Johnny that would be one for the books, does one even eat ostrich? I’m afraid I am woefully ignorant of exotic foods. The risotto is wonderful. I am not doing well cooking or prepping food because of the injured finger. I have been wanting a nice risotto lately, leeks are out of the question too much washing and I love them so, darn. Yes, it looks like people do eat ostrich, just looked up to see Maria’s comment.

    • Wouldn’t it? And according to Maria (newer comment) it’s more gamey in flavour. Which I would love, as I do like pheasant. Never, ever see ostrich meat for sale over here. Speciality stores in London would probably carry it.
      Grief, hoping your finger is on the mend. It’s so debilitating having anything wrong with your hands. Makes you appreciate them more, I guess. If I could I’d send you a large supply of freshly cooked risotto. Actually, I’m making mushroom orzotto tonight – must soak pearl barley!

  12. Happy New Year to you! I really like the sound of this – must really get myself making brussels sprouts – my mum hated them so never made them but I do like them but don’t have the confidence to cook them! This looks delish – love risotto and as we are having a pretty crappy Summer down here in Melbourne I have made quite a few over the last few weeks :)

    • HNY to you ‘n all! You’ve just managed to get in there within the first week. Later than that and it becomes that dodgy record – hold on, is that showing my age?!
      Trying to make the most of Brussels sprouts right now as they won’t be in the shops here for that much longer. Although, they do seem to be especially popular this year. Which wouldn’t explain why a lot of them are reduced in price. Oops. Have people had enough already?!

    • I’m looking even more forward to saucygander’s emu barbecue! We could televise them live, I suppose.
      Such a simple little risotto. And it’s just been Freshly Pressed. Have to admit I really enjoy it, regardless of how simple the recipe.
      According to Maria ostrich doesn’t taste like chicken, which I’m so pleased about. To think that an ostrich farm existed only five miles from where I grew up and I’ve yet to taste ostrich?!

    • Thank you, re Freshly Pressed. And for your comment. Yes, it’s one of those very simple little dishes I can make whilst getting on with other tasks. So used to making risotto I can take that risk and leave the kitchen. Even if I don’t advise that!

    • Thanks. Have just gone online after a late and very large lunch. What’s all the fuss about?! And how will I cope with all this attention…think I might just try and enjoy it.

  13. :-) Makes me giggle even more because now our blogging lives really started off in sync, first the Brussels sprouts thing, and now you got Freshly Pressed, too… Congrats!

    • Does that mean you were Freshly Pressed recently as well? Hoping so. Maybe you kept it quiet as I didn’t notice. Hopefully you’ll let me know. And thanks. Not sure what to make of it. Excepting for getting tweets every time a post is featured on FP. Saves me trying to load Reader as it’s very slow on my system. Ah, impatient as always!

      • Yes, it was on New Year’s Eve with my Apple & Cardamom Waffles. It’s been a bit of mayhem since in my inbox. I used to think it’s a two-sided sword, but now I just think you have to mentally discard all the rubbish that will come your way from being Freshly Pressed, then everything is good :-) Plus I’m really amazed at the WP people who (have to) go through millions of posts every day for FP, and they came up with mine. That’s something I really appreciate.

        • And many congrats to you, too! Are you keeping it quiet? Couldn’t help but notice last night that you now have a Page about reblogging. I’m just trashing those, quite gladly. But I was thrilled to embed the Freshly Pressed badge. Especially as I do have spaces that need filling up. Could quibble that its blue doesn’t quite match the blue of the new Follow button!? Would I? No! And I thought along the same lines – so many blogs to read. And so many languages…who reads those? Do they have staff in loads of countries worldwide? And I thought this morning that I must follow more Spanish blogs as it just might force me to revise! As for my inbox, that’s sorted. A solitary email that matters. From one of those food search engines, which I don’t know what to make of. All of them. I’ve been approached before, and have been tidying up ever since. Any advice on them would be greatly appreciated.

          • Ahem – I couldn’t find where to get the FP badge from, so I just put an update message underneath the original post. I didn’t announce anything with an extra post, there’s been enough hubbub already :-D As for email from search engines – never had those. And while you’re thinking of reading more Spanish blogs, I’m considering subscribing to French ones. My two days in Paris last month showed me I still knew the basics and was able to communicate, but I wouldn’t mind brushing up on the language again to have a USEFUL conversation…

            • You’ll find it within Widgets, under f – of course. Very easy to embed. Took seconds.
              Would love to be able to communicate in both French and Spanish. As I know more of the latter I think I’ll start off with it. It’s getting to grips with the differing verb endings. As you learnt English I think you’ll empathise.

              • Oh goodness – I hadn’t even realised it can be found within widgets, I’m not normally a techno-illiterate person… And yes, I can definitely empathise re: languages!

    • It’s not exactly something I’d planned on making! Certain veg used needed using up, and was pleased that it tasted good. So I’ve been making them since – well, once a week. I don’t live off this stuff.

  14. Freshly Pressed! You should be, that’s for sure! Congratulations! This post had me laughing, so when you are feeling “not so nice” others are actually enjoying your mood. ;) What an original idea to add brussels sprouts and broad beans to risotto. Wonderful! When you are searching for that whole ostrich make sure to look for “Emu”, I have heard they taste a little better than ostrich. But, idk!

    • Hah! The oven to cook it in is going to be the expensive bit. What have I let myself in for?! But I haven’t taken up saucygander’s challenge, yet :)
      Steal away! It’s such an easy recipe. And a good way of using up green veg. Organic frozen (garden) peas would be great in this. And so nutritional.
      As I’m going to be cutting back on wheat products (apparently it speeds up the ageing process!) I might just be plundering your blog as well :)

    • Let’s hope so. And that the recipe doesn’t cause any further dilemmas! I’ve just peeped at your lemon and artichoke post, partly as I posted something similar last month. I’m using antipasto artichoke hearts that I can buy in oil over here, which are even cheaper than in cans. So good with pasta, caramelised onions, black olives and Parmesan. One of my favourite recent recipes/ingredients.

  15. Johnny,
    – Very nice risotto! The unexpected combination of the vegetables, every one of them my favorite. A perfect original!
    – Congratulations for being featured on Freshly Pressed! This should be a great kick-off to a marvelous new year!
    I wish you more success and far beyond!
    ~Fae.

    • Thanks, Fae. You’re right, it’s certainly a kick-off to the year. And very definitely unexpected. Especially toward such a simple little dish. That I’ve been throwing together to use up veg. Regardless, it’s great to have a dish like this to be able to feast on that hasn’t brought me out in a sweat – not that I ever do in my tiny kitchen.

  16. Lovely risotto. Brussels sprouts, leeks and broad beans together at last–good one. Ostrich is tasty, by the way, at least in the hamburger versions I’ve eaten. In flavor seems closer to mild beef than chicken. The meat is very purple, like buffalo. I’m sure you’d enjoy it–if you enjoyed that sort of thing. Happy New Year! (Self-help books are the road to ruin.) Ken

    • Well, buffalo is something to add to the list of ingredients to try. The closest, and probably not even close, was a dish of Taureau de Camargue. Too salty, for my tastes. Oh, and a stew of grey cattle in Hortobágy, Hungary. The latter was a fabulous lunch. Yes, I’d happily tuck into an ostrich burger. As I do like most game. Actually, most game I haven’t tried, either! As for self-help books, I’ve been on the road to ruin without them!

  17. Hi Jonny, just a quick comment to say thanks for visiting my little corner of the blogosphere and following my blog! I appreciate the support as I’m new to this. I love your blog and your food photography, it is really excellent!

    • Thank you for saying so. Although, I would definitely argue with excellent. I seem to be constantly updating posts; tidying and tweaking until I get utterly fed up with it all. Which is partly why I’ve been posting a lot less recently. Getting featured within Freshly pressed was a nice boost, I have to admit.

    • You might be surprised. There are quite a lot of recipes out there for Brussels sprouts. Don’t know if it was big for this season. Or if it’s usually like that. Like you I love ‘em! But they do have to be pan-fried or roasted. Squishy and boiled don’t do it for me.

  18. I think some of our best recipes come from the necessity of using products on hand, What that we might not have considered combining turn out quite delicious and I like your combination. I haven’t seen canned broad beans at our markets…I’ll have to investigate. Funny that you were complaining about life being boring and then you got Freshly Pressed…congratulations. :)

    • Thanks, Karen. The odd thing is last month was the quietest last year. Now it’s off to a screaming start! The irony is that none of my other risottos/orzottos are popular. And I do agree with you about using ingredients to hand. Those dishes don’t always work out but they quite often, in turn, suggest other combinations. Will have to investigate these broad beans. As I’m surprised they’re widely available here, even in small stores. What I’m curious about are the dried fava beans I should be able to buy in the International store, as I’ve yet to try cooking with those. And have to say that I just love fresh broad beans during summer.

      • I’ve not seen the dried ones either. As to fresh fava beans, I only know of one specialty store that carries them and then only in the spring. Such is life when you live in a rural area like I do. I’m glad you got a nice boost with Freshly Pressed. As to last month being slow, I think we all experience that. Everyone is busy preparing for the holidays. :)

  19. I know, I know, I know… Brussels sprouts have been all the rage for so long and it seems everyone (myself included) can’t get enough of them. But rather than see how people and restaurants present them as a side dish, I’m now more intrigued in how you can incorporate them into other dishes. Never thought of putting them in risotto, but this dish looks fabulous! Well done!

    • They’re only the rage over here until Christmas is over – and carnage would ensue if people didn’t get their paws on them! After the glut they’re usually reduced in price – which is great for me as I can’t get enough of them. Years ago I used to make a pasta dish with Brussels sprouts, tomato and cream. My then flatmate, who had been married to an Italian and knew the Italian Rivera really well, used to scream in horror! Here, they work surprisingly well with risotto. Although, I’m not going to try them again with pasta any time soon :)

  20. I must say, that risotto does look yummy. And this coming from someone who LOVES risotto. All kinds of them too. The dish looks warm, yet fresh. Does that make any sense?

    • Must check out your blog for your risotto recipes. As I’m always on the lookout for new combinations. Really into orzotto again, with just mushrooms, garlic, cream and thyme. Have made that twice this week already.
      Yes, that makes sense – you always do :) I felt the photo was cold/cold/cold! Really wasn’t keen on it at all.

  21. I’m trying to go vegetarian but I’m still in high school can’t find a first job and live with meat lovers , but i have a vegetarian cook book and my mom is helping me out with support.

    • I’m not actually vegetarian. It’s just a case of loving vegetarian food. Besides, after the same cold (three times in total) last Dec for whatever reason I haven’t eaten meat/fish since. And probably won’t until I crave something :)

    • So do I, as in loving risotto. And I was pleasantly surprised with this simple combination. Believe me, it’s neither fancy nor difficult. If you’ve made risotto before this will be a breeze.

  22. I think I’m doomed if I keep seeing all this food porn. I’ve lost weight so don’t make me put any back on…LOL

    • Hah! This wouldn’t add any weight. Unless you drowned the soup with loads of hard cheese and single/light cream – which I would probably do and get away with it. Just can’t put on weight – shame!

    • Yes, I’m loving particular green vegetables together. And almost bought a bulb of fennel earlier whilst out food shopping – I never buy fennel. Will have to find out what it goes with!

    • Thank you. Not that I would go so far as to suggest heaven on a plate. I’m just playing with differing vegetables to go with sprouts. Fennel is on the cards, next!

      • Thanks! I’m perfectionist, and work with revision, but still, sometimes I type faster than I read… and I’m new to blogs, so I actually don’t have any idea of how things work lol I just started mine :)

  23. I made the risotto for my husband’s birthday tonight. He loves brussel sprouts and risotto but I never had thought to combine them together. I sauteed the leeks in diced pancetta which he also loves. I added the zest and juice of a lemon at the end and substituted fava beans for the broad beans. The brussel sprouts were shredded which was a good consistency for the risotto. It was delicious! Will make it again. Served it as a main course and it was hearty and satisfying. Thank you for a great recipe!

    • Absolutely thrilled! And you’ve made my week. Plus I really like your changes (especially the lemon). There’s nothing quite like a little bit of bacon/pancetta in a risotto, especially if cooked without white wine. In fact, my favourite risotto/orzotto is the chicken and bacon version. Having said that, I’ve just posted an asparagus and leek orzotto which was really good. Just not as good.
      Thanks again for the feedback. And a belated Happy Birthday to your husband.

  24. Pingback: Brussels Sprout, Broad Bean & Leek Risotto | Project Yum

  25. Pingback: Brussel Sprouts, Fava Bean and Leek Risotto with Planked Salmon | French Gardener Dishes


Love your comments and feedback!

